An Interview

Question: How do you describe JerseyGypsy?

Answer: JerseyGypsy is a one stop gift shop. A handmade emporium of quality goods at a good price. A place to get custom things you wont find in the mall.

Question: What sets you apart from other gift shops?

Answer: Unlike many other shops, I am not a one hit wonder. For example someone that only makes bags, has mostly only bags or someone that only makes candles has mostly only candles. I not only offer everything from bags, and candles, to skirts and jewelry. I make it all myself, this makes me stand out from the rest and also keeps costs low as I’m not buying things and than marking them up.

Question: The term “Gypsy” is believed to be an offensive term to the Romany community. How do you feel about this?

Answer: We are decades away from that. Todays generation uses this word to describe a free spirited person, a wanderer. I myself am not of the Romany people today but I have roots there and I grew up very poor, going to craft shows with my mother to sell her “goods”. We collected cans to put gas in the car. I have been cast out and bullied for this type of lifestyle. I have struggled, so to be honest I understand more of what it is to be a Gypsy than anyone that tells me “Gypsy” is a “derogatory word.

Question: Where do you hope to be with your business in the next few years?

Answer: I really hope to have a brick and mortar store. My Esty shop does well, I have a following on Twitter, Instagram, and even Facebook fans. I am building a website, I hope to have launched in a few months, and I am expanding into new things weekly. Most recently I’ve begun candle favors and after the 1st day of listing I have an order for a bride in California.

Question: What is your biggest challenge?

Answer: I’m am a very creative and driven person. I am very organized. I research and plan things out. Really my only challenge right now is funding. I started this out of pocket and still use sales to fund myself. So I’ve yet to see any real profit that I can bank away. If I had the funds to buy all the things I needed at once I would be able to list more and turn a faster bigger profit.

Question: What is the biggest lesson you’ve learned so far?

Answer: (*sigh) In my pursuit to have more reach to the public and get my name and products out there. I allowed myself to be taken advantage of buy 4 different businesses/business people. By agreeing on “consignment” with them.  I was, to put it bluntly robbed blind. I estimate between them all I have lost over $5000.00. The lesson I learned was “Trust your gut. Speak up for yourself, and create a deal that works for you.” I’m not stupid I knew with one of them that I was getting the short end of the stick but the opportunity to reach more people was greater to me and so I allowed it,  until it became all to clear I was making less than $1 on my items and they were making $10. With the other 2 they just never paid me, flat out stole. And with 4th deal (again I should have listened to my gut it screamed not to do it) I was again flat out robbed.

Question: What is one thing you would like everyone to know?

Answer: I am a business women. I work 7 days a week. I work 60 plus hours a week. This is my job. What I do deserves the same amount of respect as anyone else that works.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “An Interview

Leave a Reply

