Every Mile Matters

New-Virtual-Race-Graphic2

I am an active person. I don’t sit still. I’m not sure if I even can. I first realized this when I was a teenager and all my friends would lay in the sun, they could lay there forever and I was simply bored to death, so Id pace and fidget.

Now as an adult, I walk, run, bike, hike, and paddle as often as possible. I love it. I feel alive. I often feel I need more motivation to rest than I do to run. I first considered myself a runner when I told a friend I try to get in a 5k a day (less rest days), and she said to me that shed die trying to run that, to which I replied “But its only 3 miles!” (3.14 to be exact). “only 3 miles” a phase I once thought too was a large distance, now I feel its never long enough.

If there is something worse than an addiction or obsession than that’s what I have for virtual races.

I have never cared for the crowded/over crowdedness of marathons. The over pricing of them, the time restraints, and really just all of it. I enjoy the solitude of running. I have my music on, and I just go. Its really just that simple. But I still longed to be part of something, and to even have a medal to say hey look what you accomplished. This is where Virtual Races come in…I can sign up to as many as I want, complete most in my own time, at my own place and pace and most run around $30.00 with some of that money going to charity. I am currently signed up for 4 with a list of nearly 50 to complete this year!

And it was by sheer chance that I came to join Hogwarts Running Club just this past Saturday evening.

943833_10208614906793889_6004615329462490600_n

http://www.hogwartsrunningclub.org/

What a wonderful group of people all coming together to run and log miles for charity!

http://www.charitymiles.org/

Charity-Miles

I feel right at home with thousands of other fans of both Running and Harry Potter. I feel unbelievably motivated, as I pledge to run a 1000 miles this year. As I pledge to log as many personal miles as I can so I can help my house (Gryffindor of course!) win the House Cup. I pledge to join every event and be Perfect Perfect.

Now, I’m very new to the group, but they have made me feel as though I’ve been there all along. In this “club” I have found so much I’m excited for beyond running as well. They have set up A Common Room Page, Owl Post for post card exchanges, and a Mrs Weasley’s DYI page (just to name a few), ps: I simply love the DYI page since I am always making things and adding to my etsy shop. Mrs. Weasley and Id be bffs for sure! I actually just made (with a friends help and his laser etcher Charms that say “Miles Managed”! I’m in my heaven!

https://jerseygypsypeddler.wordpress.com/2016/01/06/another-favorite-project/

https://www.etsy.com/shop/JerseyGypsyEtsyShop?ref=hdr_shop_menu

And numerous other pages within the group, the amount of work that goes into this is above and beyond any I’ve seen for any other Virtual Race Clubs. A huge thumbs up to those who keep it all going!

Id like to encourage you to download the Charity miles app, its free. Log your miles (walk/run/bike/whatever), even if you don’t want to join virtual racing. Its for Charity and you know your phones going to be in your pocket anyway. And hey if your into Harry Potter and run, check out the link to Hogwarts Running Club because

Every Mile Matters.

Leave a Reply

