Things Ive Learned About Having An Etsy Shop

I am in no way an “expert”, but I’ve learned and know a thing or two about having an Etsy shop. I consider my shop to be “successful”. I consider it a job, my job. I take pride in it that way, and I present it that way when speaking to others about work. It doesn’t pay the bills exactly, but it  makes more than enough to make it worth the time, money, and work I put into it. It does put food on the table more often than not, shoes on my kids feet, and gas in the car.

On that note, first and foremost:

“If you want etsy to be your job, than your going to have to treat it like a job.” 

You are going to have to put forth an effort. Set aside time to “work” on your shop. Shop appearance, profile, policies, The pictures you upload and the information you provide about your product does make the difference between a sale or no sale.

“Be personable.”

One of the first things I realized I was doing wrong was being invisible and nameless. I did this not because I was embarrassed of what I make and sell, but because I had a fear of putting myself out there. Being invisible and nameless is, to be honest, how I go through life (mostly). And to look at me you’d never know I prefer it that way, with my purple hair and (so its been said) covered in tattoos. I’m just a private person, and I thought I could just hide in the background and make this work. Wrong! Most people want to know about you, they want to like you. They want to know who they’re buying from.

“Use social media! Its free!!!”

I can not say this enough. Though I consider my Etsy shop a success, I do not consider my Facebook page that way, and this is something I’m working hard on. 197 likes, I want more! But more than that I want followers. I want people to be engaged. Of the 197 likes, less than 50 follow and even less engage with my page. This I believe is because I have tried to remain invisible. I’m changing that and its making a difference, traffic to my Etsy shop is starting to come straight from my Facebook page and likes to my Facebook page are starting to come straight from my Etsy shop. I have much more success (right now) with Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, and this Blog. Because I am putting myself out there.

ps: friends and family and their media pages can be a huge help too, don’t be afraid to ask them to share your page.

On that same note:

“Befriend a Blogger (or even more).”

Someone that is into what you do. Though not actually “free”. You could send 1 or 10, of what you make to them and they in turn blog about it, which will make it to their Twitter, Facebook, and other pages. Creating “reach”. And when it comes down to it the farther your reach the more traffic to your etsy shop. I happen to be lucky and had a wonderful blogger reach out to me last year. https://theglittermirror.wordpress.com/

She has become an assets to me, and as long as I do this I will continue to send her things to blog about. The way I see it, its win, win. She gets gifted things she likes, and I get free advertising.

“Etsy treasuries mean Etsy traffic.”

Another “tool” if you will, to help people find you. Now I know it asks you not to add your own items to your treasuries, but I add at least one every time. I wear my own stuff daily, I love it, and when I put a treasury together something always fits. This has, for me lead to others putting me in their treasuries which has gotten me many sales, followers, and likes. It is an unspoken “you scratch my back, Ill scratch yours.”

“Traffic but no sales.”

This can seem dis-heartening, but trust me traffic means people are finding you! This is great news!! People are finding you, they are liking what you have out there, among all the 100’s of others they found you!

Which leads me to this:

“Less means more.”

Okay, so imagine you’re just window shopping. You like something, there’s 10 of them. What are you gonna do? Me? I save it for later. There’s a bunch I can come back. Yup, we all do it. So, I now list 2 or 3 at a time. Deceitful? Maybe…But when  I like and want something and I’m afraid they’ll run out you know I just up and buy it right than before its gone. Yes, your going to have to pay the 20 cent relisting fee more often, but you just sold out of something the same week you listed it, is 20 cents really a big deal now?

“There’s no such thing as a stupid question.”

You get them and you’ll think, “it says in the listing (its a set, or what its made of, or whatever it is your possible customer is asking to know). Answer them, answer them all, in detail. Thank them for “looking” or “shopping” with you. Most people only what a verification, they just want to be really sure, that they’re getting what they want. And this is a job, customer service is a he part of that. The most important part. I don’t just want sales, I want repeat customers! The key to that is customer service.

“Do your homework!”

I want 2016 to be more successful than 2015. And to do that I need to know more. I need help. I find that help in research. Reading the 100’s of blogs and reports and articles out there about having a successful Etsy Shop. Yes there are tons out there, go read some. Retail, and lets be honest, this is retail is ever changing and many things effect your shop and sales. So make sure to take in some of what is openly out there for you as tools to use. Be open to the advice in these blogs, articles, and stories. Read this one to start it is really good…

https://anasdomain.wordpress.com/2015/12/31/how-to-optimize-your-online-shop-tips-and-tricks-to-boost-your-etsy-sales-masterpost/

Now, I know if I sat here and thought more on it I could write much more, but like I said “I’m no expert, but here’s a few things.” This blog reflects my personal experience, my personal opinion. I do hope you find the information helpful, or maybe you already know all this and can just relate.

https://www.facebook.com/jerseygypsypeddler/

https://www.etsy.com/shop/JerseyGypsyEtsyShop?ref=hdr_shop_menu

Regards!

2 thoughts on “Things Ive Learned About Having An Etsy Shop

  1. This is a brilliant post!
    Touched a few things that I missed.

    Also, thank you so much for including the link to my masterpost. I am so glad you found it helpful.

    And don’t lose your motivation. Your shop is so amazing and has tons of potential.
    Sometimes it just takes time.

    Lots of love,
    Ana

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

