Unfriended

I have never had a lot of Facebook friends, never needed to nor wanted to.

And as another year comes to an end I decided to clean house in that department. I went from 54 to 29 Facebook friends, even unfriending my so called bff (she hasn’t noticed or simply doesn’t care, I haven’t heard from her since Halloween). And that right there is my whole point.

I don’t want to be friends with anyone that wont notice I’m gone. And I do not expect anyone to notice right away, no one really has. One person though was so upset they pretty much unfriended me in real life because of it. Making what I did out to be a shitty thing to do to them. When in fact it had nothing to do with them and everything to do with me.

You see for the last 6 months I noticed I was the only one holding up both sides of all but two of my friendships, its like I had an open door, a room full of people but I was invisible! I decided to close the door after shoving everyone out.

Facebook isn’t what makes us friends.

A friend is someone that answers a text, or message or the rare phone call Someone that shows up to your invite on time. Doesn’t blow you off. Or even, as in the case of the two women I now call my only friends, not allowing me to cancel on them simply because no one else is coming.

This was my New Years Resolution for 2016, but I think its more of a gift to myself.

Only allow people into your life that will notice if you were gone.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/JerseyGypsyEtsyShop?ref=hdr_shop_menu

Regards!

Leave a Reply

